Elena from Spain

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Elena from Spain

Gender: Female

Age: 15

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Fitness, Golf, Horseback Riding, Track and Field

About this Student

Hello! My name is Elena, I am 15 years old, and I live in Spain with my family. I am going to tell you some things about me so you can get to know me a little bit more. I am a very sporty girl, I like doing different kind of sports and I have practiced them over the years. Sports such as golf, horse riding or athletics, are some of my favourites and the ones I used to practice often, but now I only go to the gym because I had an injury a while ago while skiing, which means that now my knee has to recover little by little from it, so I need to take it easy.


I also like being creative, mainly art, music and painting, I really love all that. I also love spending time with my friends and family, unfortunately I don’t spend as much time as I want with them, since I’m usually busy studying during the year, but whenever we can we go on excursions or do things together, and I enjoy those moments so much, we always have a great time together.


I’m a very good chef and I think that my specialty is Spanish food. I love making tortilla de patatas and croquetas, and I would love to make it for you so you can try it! I think food is the best way that I can share Spanish culture with you, because where I live, what is best known culturally is food and soccer (if soccer can be considered a cultural thing) here in Spain we are big supporters of our spanish soccer team.


I consider myself very sociable and extroverted girl, but very independent at the same time. I love meeting new people and making new friends but at first time I can be very shy, but once I get to know them I can’t stop talking and being very affectionate, but always being respectful.


About this experience, living for a year in the United States of America, I cannot be more excited. What I expect to happen during that year is to have the opportunity to know your culture, meet new people, make new friends and spend quality time with my host family. I also want to learn how to be more independent and see how my qualities are when I am out of my comfort zone, away from home, my family and friends. This experience will be a challenge for me and I cannot wait for it!

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.