Michael from the Netherlands

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Michael from the Netherlands

Gender: Male

Age: 18

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Soccer, Guitar, Weightlifting

About this Student

Hello! My name is Michael but I go by Max. I am from the Netherlands. I live together with my parents, my two siblings, and our dog named Joey. He is a 2-year-old golden retriever, and he has been a great addition to our family. I love spending time with Joey. I take him on a walk twice a day and still try to teach him new tricks.


I am a big fan of music. I play guitar and drums. I have been playing guitar for 3 years now. I started playing drums earlier this year because I wanted to learn a new instrument. My cousins inspired me to start playing guitar and drums, and that is where most of my time goes. Besides playing music, I also listen to a lot of music, mostly rock and metal, but I also love classical and jazz.


On Monday evening, my father and I train a soccer team. It is a team of 9-year-old boys, and it is one of my favorite activities during my week. On Saturday morning, our team plays a game, and even though we lose a lot, everyone still has fun.


A good amount of my time is spent in the gym. I go at least 6 days a week and actively track what and how much I am eating. My siblings also go to the same gym as me, and so do most of my friends. I have been going consistently for about 8 months now, and it has changed my life for the better. I am still in school, and I have my final exams in June.


I have a couple of reasons why I want to live and study in the United States. The first one is that my father did the same thing when he was younger. He lived in a town in Texas, and he still tells me stories about how great it was. He has friends he made over 30 years ago he still speaks to this day. The second reason is when I was 10 years old, my parents took us on a holiday to the United States, and I loved every second of it. We went from the West Coast to the East Coast in 6 weeks. During that holiday, I met my father’s host family. I didn’t understand a word of what they said back then, but I could feel it was something special, and I could tell my father was grateful for everything he experienced. Three years later, we visited New York and Washington D.C., and that was the moment I realized that I wanted to go on an exchange year.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.