Iris from the Netherlands

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Iris from the Netherlands

Gender: Female

Age: 17

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Dance, Singing, Theater

About this Student


My name is Iris. I live in the Netherlands. My parents divorced when I was four years old and my brother was five. I have a good bond with my brother and mother. I also have a sweet stepmother and two lovely half sisters at my father’s side. Most of the time I am with my mom, but that’s only because it’s closer to school and my friends. But I see both of my families every week. Both of my families have pets. My mom has a cat, she was a shelter cat. My dad also has a cat and two goats. I like animals, especially dogs. Unfortunately, my parents don’t want a dog, but my cats and the two goats are really sweet too. Personally, I’m not religious, but obviously I respect every religion and the culture and tradition that goes with it.


So I’m a social, extravert and a happy person. I take easy initiative and like to make plans. I like to go on dates with my friends and family, go shopping with them, having lunch/dinner together, go to festivals, having sleepovers, going on vacation. I also like staying in, baking or to just drink coffee and talk. Sometimes I help my mom in the kitchen and we especially make healthy dishes. Also, I like to dance, act and sing. When I was younger I had musical, theater and singing classes.


Every week I work at a restaurant near my house, it’s a Dutch pancake restaurant. The restaurant where I work learns you to be independent, to deal with issues or problems you may have while working, and how to be polite to the guests. It also learns you how to work together and help each other. Before I worked at a restaurant, I babysat three small children. This was for a short time, but it was a lot of fun.


Of course, I go to school, I’m in the 11th grade year right now. School is going well, my grades are high, and I have a lot of friends. Not everything is always perfect, but that’s life.


There are so many reasons why I want to do an exchange year in America. Big things like, experiencing and connecting with your totally different culture, making new friends, going to high school, learning your language, celebrate holidays and enjoy school parties (homecoming, prom, Fourth of July, Christmas), playing American sports. But there are also small things I like to experience with you, or my new friends, like getting ice cream, having movie nights and experiencing your daily life.


I’m looking forward to meeting you!

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.