Lotta from Finland

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Lotta from Finland

Gender: Female

Age: 17

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Art, Photography, Writing Poetry, Reading, Languages

About this Student

Hi! I’m Lotta. I am a Finnish girl. I am openminded, creative and I love 70’s and 80’s music. My favorite bands are Queen and Metallica. I don’t play any instruments, but I have always wanted to play either the bass or drums. I spend my free time mostly drawing, painting, photographing, reading english literature, watching movies or thrifting at the local secondhand stores with my friends. I a a big Marvel fan and I love going to the movies. I’m interested in film making and especially cinematography. I like writing and shooting videos and I’m probably going to try shooting shortfilms soon.


I have a mom, a dad, an older brother and a younger sister. We have three cats and a dog and I love animals.


I like studying and spending time with my friends. Most of my time is spent in school, but I do not mind it at all. I love learning all kinds of new stuff especially languages. I speak Finnish of course and pretty good English. We have mandatory Swedish classes at school and I also started taking Spanish classes plus on my free time I have been learning some Romanian too. I played soccer for 11 years before I quit at 15 to focus more on school so that I could get into my dream upper secondary school (which is basically a finnish high school). And I got in. I’m now studying in a school that has a specific educational mission of visual arts and design.


I am really excited to experience the american high school, which is the biggest reason I chose the US as my destination. I would love to do something related to art in high school or play soccer if possible. I want to improve my English but the possibility to also improve Spanish in school or at home would be amazing. I do not mind cold weather since I am from Finland and the winters get really cold here.


I love being outdoors and the forest is a place where I like to relax and also photograph nature. I enjoy spending time with mostly people my age or older. I to traveling, but I do not like being a tourist and an exchange year is perfect, because I get to experience the real culture and not just the tourism part of the country. Of course it would be cool to see some tourist attractions, but mostly I am in it for the actual daily life kind of stuff. I love visiting museums and art galleries.


I look forward to my exchange year in the US.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.