Franziska from Austria

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Franziska from Austria

Gender: Female

Age: 15

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Dance, Piano, Board Games, Cheerleading

About this Student

Hello! My name is Franziska. I live with my older sister (who also did an exchange year) and my parents in an apartment in Vienna/Austria. Currently my older sister is studying business in South Korea, and I miss her a lot. With my family, I often have game nights where we play board and card games which is a lot of fun. We also travel a lot to places in Europe or other countries like Thailand, Kenya, South Korea ….


My hobbies are playing the piano and dancing. I am now dancing for 11 years, and I play the piano for 7 years. Three times a week I have dance practice. With my dance team I go to a lot of competitions in different countries. This year we are also participating in a TV casting show.


My biggest dream is to do an exchange year in the USA. There I want to improve my English, get to know the American culture, their traditions and meet new people from all over the world. I also really want to be a cheerleader in an American football cheerleading team in high school. I think I would fit in well because of my dance experience and because I´ve also been a cheerleader in Austria a few years ago.


My grades are quite good, especially in English (so far I´ve had only A´s an B´s) so I will definitely be able to come back to Austria and start 11th grade without any problems.

I usually spend most of my afternoons with my friends. After school we like having lunch and then spending some time in the city centre, in a park or whatever we are in the mood to. We go shopping, have a sleepover or we just go to the movies.


As much as I enjoy going out, I also love to just stay at home and have a movie marathon, play games and bake or cook something.


I love spending time with my family. I have a really big family including four cousins, older than I am, my aunts and uncles and my grandparents on my dad’s side. We often spend time together in Vorarlberg, in the western part of Austria where my dad originally is from. In winter we go skiing and celebrate Christmas together. On my mum’s side, she is from Salzburg (maybe you know “The sound of Music” 😊) I have one cousin, who is already 31 years old and lives in London, and again my uncles and aunts and my grandma. My cousin will be my confirmation sponsor this year and then she will marry. It will be the first marriage I will attend and I am already very excited.


I would describe myself as open minded, funny, sporty and I make friends very quickly.  I hope we will be able to spend a lot of time together and have a perfect year together.

I am really looking forward to meeting you.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.