Ivan from Spain

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Ivan from Spain

Gender: Male

Age: 15

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Korfball, Robotics, Canoeing, Sailing

About this Student

Hello! I’m Ivan and I’m 15 years old. I live in a little town near a big city that I love too much because all the things and places are near home and I can walk to everywhere. I live very near to my school, the sports center and the cinema. Also, there is a train station near home that allows us to arrive to the center of the big city in few minutes.


My school it’s only 5 minutes walking from home, I’ve studied there since I was 3 years old and I have made all my friends there.


We are a family of 5 people my parents Gemma and Gonzalo and my siblings Marc and Sara. I have a very good relationship with them because they’re very important for me, I’m the youngest one. I love spending time with family and I have a lot of good memories with them. Also I love spending time with my grandparents and my uncles because I love them so much.


I consider myself an enthusiastic and outgoing person and I love to try new experiences, I also love to travel to different places and meet new people. In my free time I really like to hang out with my friends, sometimes we go to a very popular restaurant in my town to see soccer matches together,  also we like to go to the cinema.  Sometimes we go to the big city by train in order to have a walk, go shopping or to see Christmas lights. As I said before I’m very responsible and I always tell my parents about my plans.


I love to practice sport. 3 days a week I have korfball training, In Spain this sport is not very famous but I like to practice it because of the values it promotes like respect for other players, companionship, teamwork and inclusiveness.  Every weekend I have games with different teams of Catalonia. In summer time I also practice water sports like swim, sailing, snorkel and kayak. However if it was possible during my year school in the US, I would like to try new sports like  American football. I think it is a good opportunity to do it.


I have been to the USA twice and I really liked your country. I have many reasons why I would like very much to be part of your family. I am an easygoing person to live with. I respect the family rules and I’m very honest. During the exchange year I would be very excited to meet new people and make a lot of new friends. Of course, I would  like to have new experiences sharing your culture, traditions, and lifestyle. Also, I would like to share with you and my new friends  some of my traditions and some typical dishes from my country. I want to improve my English and I’d like to experience some of the famous traditions of USA like Thanksgiving, Halloween or Saint Patrick’s Day…


I’m aware about what means having a new member in your family. I’m sure we will face the challenge together. I’m so grateful to you for giving me such incredible opportunity. I’m convinced that I would be very happy being part of your family.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.