Lena from Austria

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Lena from Austria

Gender: Female

Age: 16

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Dance, Fitness, Board Games, Cooking

About this Student

Hello! My name is Lena and I am currently 16 years old. I attend a business school in a little town in Austria. I live with my little brother and my parents. My brother Fabian is only  three years younger than me. I have a really good relationship with my Mum and Dad, we are talking about everything. I really enjoy the time we spend together! I also love my brother, but pssst, don’t tell him, he can be such an annoying teenager! 🙂

 

I have never visited the USA before, but I always wanted to. A student from another class did an exchange year in Indianapolis last year. When I saw her pictures on our school website, I knew that this was exactly what I wanted to do. The thought wouldn’t let me go!

 

At first, I was a bit skeptical because I have never traveled alone before. But now I see it as a great experience and a good opportunity to get even more independently. It is not only a great personal experience, but also the chance to come to a better knowledge in the language. Although my English is good, it is not perfect at all and still needs a lot of practice.

 

I’m really interested in foreign languages. In secondary school I started learning French and since 2022 I am learning Spanish as well. In 2027 I will finish business school.

I can image becoming a teacher, teaching languages and working with Kids, I love both of these 🙂

 

I am really excited about the school in the US. I know that it is completely different from Austria. We have fixed study plans,  all students in the same school level are attending the same classes. I heard that the school system in America is much more flexible and that I can participate in creating my own study plan. I am really looking forward to my new class mates and my new subjects. The world belongs to the wise!

 

I am very open minded for everything that is waiting for me. I really want to try out new things which are not so common in Austria. For example, cheerleading or football.

 

I love to see new parts of the world and get to know the country and the people better. If there is time besides work and school, we love to go on family trips. We have been around Austria, Croatia, Italy, Slovenia, Greece and Germany. The furthest journey has been to Egypt. I’m a real summer person indeed, I love the sun, the lakes and the sea!

 

I also want to give you an insight of Austria and my culture.  I would love to tell you all about it, answer all your questions and show you a lot of pictures.  If you want, I can teach you some German words. Do you know Mozart balls, these sweet little chocolate balls with marzipan filling? You have to try it!

 

I am a very cheerful, but also reliable young woman, who loves to laugh. I would love to be part of your family with all the obligations and joys that comes with that. A big adventure is waiting!

 

I am very excited to finally meet you!

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.

Name(Required)
Address(Required)