Marlena from Germany

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Marlena from Germany

Gender: Female

Age: 16

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Equestrian Events, Equestrian Vaulting, Cheerleading, Games

About this Student

Hello! My name is Marlena, I am 16 years old, and I come from a small, rural town in Bavaria, Germany. My friends would bescribe me as a funny, helpful, communicative and happy person.


In my freetime I like spending time with my friends or family. I also like to go in my freetime to my horse and do horse riding. The name of my horse is “Herzi”, his name is “Herzi” because he has a heart on his head and in german its called “Herz”.


I live here with my parents and my older sister, she is 18 years old. We have two cats, “Mimi” and “Agi” are their names. My favourite subjects in school are BWR (business administration and law) and sports. My family and I love to travel, I have already been to Spain, Greek, Croatia, Italy, Florida, New York, France, CZECH republic, netherland and Dubai.


I chose spending my exchange year in the USA because I want to see the American school system especially the high school. I know that the American school system is a lot different to ours, and I am happy to being able to choose the subject that I am intrested in and learn new skills I have never tried before, because this is not possible in the German school system. I want to live the American culture, meet new and international friends and learn the most important langauage better.


I think that I am especially suitable for being an exchange student because I am open to become a close member of your family. I am sure I will enjoy spending time with you. Maybe you already have other children I can spend time with, but if not, I hopefully can make you feel like you now have one. I am excited to get to know you! I already have a lot of duties just like cleaning parts of the house, dish-washing and vacuum in our house and I am always there for my family when it comes to helping with other tasks. So it won´t be a problem to support you with the housekeeping. Maybe I can also show you a bit of the German culture as well. Such as cooking a traditional Bavarian “Schnitzel” and “Kartoffelsalat” (potato salad) .

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.