Wilma from Sweden

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Wilma from Sweden

Gender: Female

Age: 18

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Cooking, Skiing

About this Student

Hello! My name is Wilma, and I am an enthusiastic and positive 18-year-old girl. I have always loved exploring new parts of the world and making new life experiences, which is one of the reasons why I want to do an exchange year in the US. This dream about studying abroad is something I have thought about for a long time. I remember fourteen-year-old me watching other people move to the US for an exchange year on YouTube, and there is where the dream was born.

 

I live in Sweden. As located far up in the north, in wintertime my country offers great possibilities to practice one of my absolute favorite activity, alpine skiing. An activity I got to master quite well after many years of doing it. I love animals. I have a cat, a ragdoll/perser named Jesper. I also love cooking and trying new dishes from all around the world. I really like Asian food, especially sushi which has been my favorite dish since as far back as I can remember. Beside all this, I love to travel, which is perhaps implicit when you are going abroad for a year. I have visited many countries all over the world, both with and without my family. I believe that the trips I have made on my own have given me quite a good perspective and a good start on what my life could be during an exchange year. I have made two such trips, most recently in the summer of ´23 when I flew to Malaga, Spain, to stay with a Spanish family, and learn the language with other teenagers for two weeks. The summer before I went to Eastbourne, England, for a confirmation trip, where I was also baptized. These two trips have given me a lot of new experiences and I met some of my best friends on them. These trips I made on my own have really helped to create the version of me that I am today, and I am sure the US has a lot to give as well.

 

My life goal in the coming years is to get into a good university, that is as far as my dreams for the future go right now. What happens after that, remains to be seen. I want to study somewhere in England or in the US. I love having good knowledge and another goal of mine is to strive after more. In other words, it is very important for me which university I end up at. When I come back to Sweden after my exchange year, I also want to do military service for the Swedish national defense.

 

I know that an exchange year will help me achieve my goals, as this experience will not only provide an academic advantage when I return home to Sweden, but also a greater knowledge of life.

 

I am sure that my English skills will improve during the exchange year, which will be very useful in the future. But above all, this year in the US will give me new perspectives, culturally speaking. I am really looking forward to becoming part of an American family during my exchange year and learning more about American culture and lifestyle.

 

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.

Name(Required)
Address(Required)