Helena from Germany

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Helena from Germany

Gender: Female

Age: 16

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Horseback Riding, Painting, Drawing, Piano

About this Student

Hello! My name is Helena, and I am in the 10th grade. I live with my mother in a house in Germany. My parents are divorced, but my father also lives nearby and I visit him often. We are a “European” family, as my mother comes from the Czech Republic and my father is half German and half Greek. I have a 17 year old brother who is currently going to boarding school so he can play his sport because he is an ice hockey player in another city. Luckily I see him almost every weekend. We get along very well.

 

I also have many pets, which i love. I have rabbits, a turtle and a dog. I enjoy looking after the animals and working with them because I really like animals. My hobbies are riding and painting. I ride regularly with friends at a riding school. Even though I don’t have a horse of my own, I enjoy spending time in the stable looking after the horses and I really enjoy riding. Of course I’m also open to trying out other hobbies but I would miss riding a lot. If the opportunity arises in any form, I would like to continue riding in the USA.

 

I paint as often as I have time, it gives me space for myself and helps me clear my head.

 

In my free time I meet up with my friends to spend time together or I am with my family, because I like spending time with other people. I also like to retreat to my room sometimes to relax and have time for myself. Then I listen to music or just paint a picture. I really enjoy taking my dog for a walk or playing with him, and sometimes I teach him a new trick. I also have a small job to supplement my pocket money.

 

I can walk or cycle to school. At school my favorite subjects are chemistry and art. Chemistry because it’s interesting and what I like best about art is that I can be creative. But I’ve heard our type of school is different from school in the US and so I’m very interested in it and I want to make the experience what it’s like to go to high school.

 

I would really like to do a student exchange in the USA because I would like to improve my language skills and I think the best way to do that is in the country itself. Furthermore, I would like to know the culture and lifestyle. I’ve heard a lot about the USA, but I would like to experience everyday life myself and I think that works best with a host family because it is more familia and personal things are important to me.

 

I hope that the exchange will allow me to gain a lot of experience and that I will learn English better in an interesting and varied environment.

 

I would be happy to get to know you and I am looking forward to spend time with you together!

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.

Name(Required)
Address(Required)