Manuela from Switzerland

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Manuela from Switzerland

Gender: Female

Age: 16

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Swimming, Bike Riding, Cooking

About this Student

Hello! My name is Manuela, and I am 16 years old.

 

I am a relatively quiet person but organized and friendly. I am respectful and reliable and why not to say I’m lovely and funny too. I do respect rules. If something works not quite as it should, I prefer to talk instead of ignoring things. I’m currently living with my parents and my 18 years old brother in a small town in the German side of Switzerland. My father is Swiss and my mother is Colombian. At home we have the two cultures together. Maybe once I can show you some pictures and tell you about some differences between the two cultures. I speak German and Spanish, but I realized that English will be very important in my life and although I receive English classes in school, the level is not adequate for me in the future. Therefore, my family is helping me to go to the USA for one year to learn the language fluently. I hope with your help, this goal will be reality and my English will be better. Right now, I am studying in the first year of Technical High School. Now I have this amazing opportunity to make an exchange year. I hope I will meet a lot of new people and I will extend my circle of friends and connections.

 

In my spare time, I love swimming. I’m part of a swim club. I train 6 days per week, and I am also teaching small children to swim. I love children. We have lots of fun and I can learn plenty from them. So, I wouldn’t have a problem if I had host siblings, in fact I would be very happy to have the opportunity to share time with them. I also like travelling. And I would be grateful if I can travel a little bit during my exchange year. It’s a pleasure for me to visit new places in special if those places are

related to water, animals, and sightseeing. It would be great if we could travel or make a trip together. I would be very happy to spend some time with you. I also like to bake. My speciality are desserts. Maybe once I can cook something for you and off course to help a little bit in the kitchen. During wintertime I enjoy skiing and share time with family and friends. I love animals and enjoy sharing time with them although in my house I only have a Hamster. My favourite animals are dogs. I would be very happy if you have a pet. Maybe I can go walking with it. When I come back to Switzerland, I want to continue with my education while I define the career I want to follow, but I will continue giving swimming lessons as this is something I really enjoy.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.

Name(Required)
Address(Required)