Mar from Spain

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Mar from Spain

Gender: Female

Age: 16

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Basketball, Reading, Skiing, Swimming

About this Student

Hello! My name is Mar. I am from Spain, I live in a city located in the east of the country. We are a family of four, my father, my mother and my brother who is 18 year old. At home we have had a fish, a turtle and a hamster, but I love dogs. I love going on weekends to visit my uncle Javi, my father’s brother, who lives in the countryside with his dog, called Conan. I am the one in charge of taking care of the dog when my uncle is on a trip.

 

I would describe myself as a curious and creative person, and it is mainly for this reason that I would like to go to your country, to learn not only your language but also your culture. I am also an outgoing person and I really enjoy meeting new people and making friends. I consider myself organized, willing to collaborate and a good friend.

 

I am studying in a High School in the centre of the city, it is really near from my home so I walk there every morning. It takes me 10 minutes to get there. There are 500 students more or less. As a curiosity there is a shelter and a chapel, it is an ancient and beautiful building.

 

My hobbies are reading, cooking, playing basketball and skiing. In the summer we go to little town in the coast, with amazing beaches. I have been going there since I was a baby and I really enjoy the sea, the sunsets and sunrises. I love diving and going down many meters in the sea. We share this holiday’s house with my mother’s sister and her family, I mean with my uncles and cousins. We all have a great time together. My cousins are a 20 year old boy and a 16 year old girl, she is only 8 months older than me, so we are more than cousins, we are also friends and spend time going out with other friends. We live very close in the city as well, we go to the same school and we share friends. At weekends, we like going to the centre of the city, we enjoy going on shopping and then eating some sweets at some fashion place.

 

I have been playing in a basketball team for the last 4 years. I train twice a week and play a match at the weekends, usually on Saturdays. I have a group of friends there too.

 

I have been dreaming of the experience of going to study in the United States since I was very little, sharing my life with a family that welcomes me as another member is an opportunity to improve my English. I would like to teach you my culinary knowledge, one day we could make a typical Spanish dinner, with the famous potato omelette. I also find pasta delicious in different ways.

 

I also would like to say that I am very respectful and I will adapt perfectly to the rules you have at home, as well as the tasks you consider I should do. I like sports and outdoor activities. I would like to join a sport at my future school, I imagine it will be very lively, I think it will be different from my team in Spain.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.

Name(Required)
Address(Required)