Colin from Germany

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Colin from Germany

Gender: Male

Age: 16

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Cooking, Snowboarding, Climbing, Swimming

About this Student

Hi! My name is Colin. I want to introduce myself to let you know who I am. I live with my mom, my dad, and my older brother in a small village. It has about two thousand inhabitants and is located in the north of Germany not far away from the Baltic Sea. We live in our own house with a very nice garden. We also have a dog called Ella. I really enjoy teaching her tricks, playing with her, and going out with her for a walk.


In my room, I have a small aquarium with a few fish, shrimps, and snails. There are also many plants in my room, as I like to collect those. I have a passion for music and enjoy spending time with my friends. We like to go bowling, although we’re not really good at it, go shopping, or go to the cinema. But we also like to just go out for walks.


Sometimes I go snowboarding with my family. We don’t have mountains nearby, so we go indoor snowboarding every once in a while, a few kilometers away. There is a slope that is not as long as you would like it to be, but it’s still fun snowboarding there. I also like to go indoor climbing and swimming.


Besides that, one of my hobbies is reselling sneakers. Sneaker reselling involves buying limited sneakers at a lower cost and later selling them for a profit. What I like about that hobby is the fact that I meet many people, but also that I’m learning much about things involved in businesses.


My school is only a few hundred meters away, so I just walk there every day. I’m in 10th grade right now. My favorite subjects are English, Art, Business, and Sport. The subjects that I don’t like that much are chemistry and biology. I’m also in the student council where we do a lot for the other students. Every once in a while, we also organize sport tournaments.


Last year, my brother spent a high school year in Colorado as an exchange student. He really enjoyed his stay and told me many stories about it, and that’s what got me interested. I would like to spend time with you because the prospect of living in a new country and immersing myself in a different culture is exciting to me. I want to experience going to a high school and speaking another language. I would also like to see the local nature. I hope I can bring you some parts of the German culture a little bit closer, while you show me the American way of living.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.