Lykke from Sweden

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Lykke from Sweden

Gender: Female

Age: 15

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Cooking, Music, Fitness

About this Student

Hi, I’m Lykke. In my free time, I enjoy spending quality time with my family and friends, as well as exploring the city/place where I’m at. I am a very social person and getting to know new people is one of the things I look forward to the most. I wouldn’t say I’m a complicated person, I can do whatever my friend or family wants to do, as long as I have them as company!

 

Why I wanted to do an exchange year started in 2018 when my family moved to Milan, in Italy. This all happened when I was 9 years old, and I had never really been to a big city before. I was born and raised on the country side in a house, so moving to a new country, in a huge city was one of the scariest things that I’ve ever done. I could barely speak any English, let alone Italian since I had only had a few English lessons back in Sweden. I was enrolled in a Canadian international school, where all of the lessons were taught in English. I remember my first day there like it was yesterday. I was so scared of the thought that I wouldn’t be able to make friends, or that the lessons would be way to hard, everything that I could possibly worry about was the only thing i could think of. I remember sitting down at the desk that had my name on it, and looking at all the strange faces around me. My teacher started by introducing herself, and then letting us get to know each other. I was so nervous I didn’t know what to do, but then a super sweet girl came up to me and asked if I wanted to sit with her, and I said yes. Ever since that day in September of 2018, she has been my best friend even if we live countries apart, and even if it has been years since we met, and I learned that the only thing I needed to make friends and get to know people is with courage. She taught me that if I wanted something, I had to be brave and do it for myself, because nothing is handed to you if you don’t put yourself out there. When I moved back to Sweden in 2021, I had to start a in a new school, once again. But this time, I had so much more experience, so when the first day came around, I saw a sweet girl who looked as lost as I was, and I went up to her and we started talking and getting to know each other. Making new friends felt so good, and I wasn’t nearly as nervous as before. This is what I want in my exchange year too. Making friends for life, and being able to share my culture, as well as exploring the American culture. Another of my biggest interests is cooking, especially Swedish food. We have lots of dishes that I would love to make for my host family.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.

Name(Required)
Address(Required)