Viljami from Switzerland

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Viljami from Switzerland

Gender: Male

Age: 16

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Badminton, Tennis, Bike Riding, Hiking

About this Student

Hello! I’m Viljami. I was born in Finland. When I was a child, I lived in a small town in Finland. When I was 7, my family moved to Switzerland. A little bit about my family, my mom is from Chile and my dad is from Finland. I have never lived in Chile, although I have been there several times visiting my grandparents. I have a younger brother who is 14y old. I get along well with him; we play videogames together or discuss music.

 

Arriving in Switzerland I couldn’t really speak German. I then learned to speak German, made some friends too. I went to school in a village for 6 years. I really enjoyed those 6 years, the school was close, so I could go home on lunchtime, and my friends lived nearby too.

 

Later I started going to a bigger school in a big city of Switzerland. It was quite a big change; I go to school every day by train and eat lunch away from home. Luckily, some of my friends also started going to the same school and we were in the same class. I got to know the new classmates too and became very good friends with them. In the 3rd year there was a change in the classes, and I got new classmates. I’ve gotten to know them well now and enjoy their company.

 

I live in the German speaking part of Switzerland. I’m in 9th grade. Some of my interests are sports, I used to be in a football/soccer team, and I like to ski. I usually ski with my dad and sometimes with friends. I have gotten to know a lot of new places skiing. In the summer I go mountain biking. It’s kind of the only biking that’s possible in Switzerland, which is convenient. At the time of writing this I’m beginning to skateboard. I also like to play videogames, usually with my friends. Sometimes I start little projects, where I build something. I like these projects because I learn something new and have a finished product in the end of which I can be proud. I also do digital design, because I wanted to create some T-shirt designs. I have also been part of the Scouts in Switzerland. I had the chance to know new places in Switzerland and attend a Scout camp that lasted for 2 weeks. My multicultural background has helped me a lot in languages. I speak Finnish, Spanish, German and English fluently. At school I’m learning French and at home I’m learning Swedish.

 

An exchange year is a big step and an even bigger opportunity, which is why I want to experience it. A year in the US would widen my view of the world and let me improve my English pronunciation. I would get to meet many people and get to be part of an American family. It would also be good chance to grow as a person, since a completely new country, culture and family helps me to adapt and learn. But an exchange year is not just about receiving. I want to show my culture, or better said cultures to anyone who wants to get to know me.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.

Name(Required)
Address(Required)