Mathias from Germany

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Mathias from Germany

Gender: Male

Age: 16

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Climbing, Swimming, Fitness, Dance

About this Student


I am Mathias from Germany and am writing to you full of excitement because I might get the chance to live in your country for 10 months and go to school there.


In my hometown, I live with my parents and two siblings, although my older sister has already moved out. My brother is just a little younger than me. My parents work, mom part time and dad full time. Our city has half a million residents.


I am in 10th grade, and will take my final exams this school year. My school emphasizes Christian values. We have mass every 3 weeks and a Christian reflection every week. I think that’s alright. I go to church on holidays and also to youth group meetups.


When I come to the USA, I will be 16 years old. After I return from the USA, I’m planning to start vocational training. Maybe by then my English will be good enough that I can teach others. Yes, improving my English speaking and listening skills is my main motivation. The other reasons make me a little uneasy (unknown continent, new people, becoming independent), but I will manage.


In my free time, I like to do sports (sport climbing, partner dancing, swimming and the gym, I can also play volleyball), listen to music and play video games. In the USA I’m planning to spend little time on the computer – because that would be too bad, I know that!

During vacations, my parents are more the “planners” than “buddies.” I have to say, most of the time I like it that way too. Mom always wants us to get exercise, so we do it. Whether in the water, forest or mountains, we don’t miss out.


We have December now. In our city a lot of snow has fallen and a world-famous Christmas market opened. Can you guess which city I live in?


If you have a child my age, I would be very happy. But that is just a small wish from me that doesn’t necessarily have to come true. I really like animals. At the moment unfortunately we don’t have a pet. We used to have guinea pigs that could roam freely in our yard. Right now everyone is wishing for a cat or a dog. During my stay with you I will of course help out around the house, I do that at home too. Mom tells me what I should do, and if I don’t forget, I do it too. Besides that, I’d like to brag a little bit – most teachers like me. They say I’m a polite, helpful and well-behaved student.


I’m happy that I might get to meet you soon.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.