Mia from Germany

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Mia from Germany

Gender: Female

Age: 16

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Horseback Riding, Fitness, Soccer

About this Student

Hello!

My name is Mia and I am 16 years old. Together with my parents, I live in a small and very old university town right in the middle of Germany. I have two older sisters who are already studying. I visit the 10th grade of a local High School, where my favourite subjects are English and Sports, and where I sing in the School Choir.

 

I would describe myself as an honest, warmhearted, and fun person. My family means a lot to me: we often cook together, play cards, or watch a movie. Sometimes we visit my sisters in Southern Germany. When I meet my friends, we walk into town, or visit the Gym together. When my sisters visit, we love to be creative, bake together or watch movies (we all love American sitcoms).

 

I also love to take care of animals. I ride and take care of a horse two times a week; I volunteer at a stable that offers horse therapy, since I did my school internship there. We have a cat, but I also love dogs very much, so sometimes I walk dogs in the neighborhood.

 

My dad works for an asset management company, my mom is a biologist and is a press officer at a research institute. They both sing in a church choir. My mom enjoys gardening and grows vegetables, my dad loves all kinds of sports.

 

When I was little we visited Staunton, Virginia, where my mom was born and spent her first childhood years (my granddad was a German college teacher). I don´t remember all details but this was the most wonderful travel for me. I always wished to spend more time in the U.S. and really live there for a while. Now I am very happy to have the opportunity to take part in this program.

 

I am eager to learn about American culture and experience your family life and traditions, like Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas, and to meet new friends. I would love to be a part of a lively High School community, improve my English, and am open to learning all kinds of new things, like sport disciplines or other activities.

 

If you like, I could share German things with you: since I like cooking and baking, I could bake German dishes or Christmas cookies, or show you board or card games we like to play. It is a natural thing for me to contribute to family life and help with everyday chores.

 

Thank you for taking part in this program, and for taking your time to read my letter. If you now feel I might be your guest daughter:  I am very much looking forward to learning more about you, and to meet you in person next summer!

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.

Name(Required)
Address(Required)