Lola from Spain

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Lola from Spain

Gender: Female

Age: 15

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Swimming, Theater, Guitar

About this Student

Hello! My name is Lola, and I live in a little waterfront city where everyone knows each other.

 

I consider myself as a very creative, optimistic and open-minded person who always wants to try new things alone, with family or with friends. Likewise, I love to spend time with them, but in the last few years I have been realizing that spending time alone is always a good way to know yourself better, so I balance these two things. I’m also an active person who is always doing very different things. For example, I’m at a swimming club, but I’m also at a theater club, and in my free time I do things that not necessary are what I do as a guided activity. I like listening to music, going to the beach, watching movies, running, singing, cycling…

 

What I like the most is spending time with my family. I live with my father Gerard, my mother Irene and my sister Rita, who is three years younger than me. I love spending time with her, talking about everything, swimming at the beach, or playing games. But apart from my near family, who I live with, I’m very close to my paternal grandparents because I have always had lunch with them when I get out of school. I’m not that close to my maternal family because they don’t live in my city, but I try to visit them once a week, and when summer arrives and I don’t have to go to school, I spend a lot of time with them. I only have two cousins who are much older than me, so I don’t see and talk with them a lot, but there are two kids who are the daughters of my mom’s best friend that I consider my cousins, and I like taking care of them. I love kids.

 

When I was a kid, I didn’t show much interest in English, it was like another subject at school. But years later, I went for the first time to an English-speaking country and I realized that being able to speak English was very important for knowing other people and cultures, so I started taking extracurricular English classes, watching series and movies in English, and trying and trying again. My English improved (obviously it could be better; this is one of the points that my exchange year is for). Then, I had the idea to make an exchange year. At first, my parents weren’t very convinced at all, but after a long time, they saw that I really wanted to do it, so they started doing everything humanly possible to help me achieve my dreams. I’m really grateful for that.

 

Like I said before, I’m a really open-minded person, so I want to try new things, experience how the American culture works, share my culture with all of you and have fun while I do that. These are the only things I hope will happen. But also, I know that I will have to work on getting adapted to my new life and it won’t always be easy, but I will do my very best to have a great experience with you.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.

Name(Required)
Address(Required)