Amalie from Denmark

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Amalie from Denmark

Gender: Female

Age: 15

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Scouting, Cooking, Art

About this Student

Hello! My name is Amalie, I’m 15 years old and I’m from Denmark. In my family we consist of 5 people. My mom and dad, Klaus and Louise and my two older brothers Sebastian (24 yrs) and Christoffer (22 yrs) and obviously me… I also have two cats, their names are Wilma and Alfred and they are both 5 years old.


In my spare time I enjoy hanging out with my friends visiting museums (mainly art) and cook/bake. I enjoy a lot of different foreign food, but i also like traditional Danish food. Therefore cooking and baking will be one of the ways I will share my culture with you guys. My family and I often go to our summer house by the sea, I love the fresh air and being close to the sea.


My favorite subject in school is English and as my family have hosted students from the US I look forward to improving my English skills even further. All my life, my family has been very influenced with American culture. I’ve been to the US 3 times where we went on road trips so therefore I’ve have seen a lot of different states in the US, and I’m looking forward to maybe see somewhere I haven’t already been…


Some other American experiences I’m looking forward to try during my year abroad, are all the things I’ve seen in the movies and on TV. Stuff like yellow school buses, football games, cafeteria food etc. Of course I am also already looking very much forward to the unforgettable experiences I’m going to get with my host family and my new friends. To experience the average American everyday life is also something I’m excited to try and I look forward to getting much deeper into American culture. My dad was also an exchange student (in Colorado) back in the 80’s and has told me a lot about his high school year which has only sparked my interest further. I’m sure going to high school and living with an American family will be a very interesting and life changing experience for me.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.