Lieke from the Netherlands

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Lieke from the Netherlands

Gender: Female

Age: 17

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Dance, Horses, Theater

About this Student

Hello!

 

My name is Lieke and I’m 17 years old. I live with my parents, my sister, my very cute dog called Happy and our 2 tortoises. If I had to describe myself, I would say that I’m a really talkative, social and energetic girl. In my spare time I really like to spend time with family or friends. In the weekends I often do things with friends, and if so, I always get ready with my sister. We pretend like we’re performing the greatest concert of all time, help each other with makeup or choosing outfits, and talk about everything! With my friends I like to go out to dinner, sometimes we even cook our own (although this doesn’t always have the best results haha). I also like to have a game night, and play all kind of boardgames. I am quite competitive though so I do always want to win. Overall I just really like to be surrounded by people or animals. And although I can easily talk a whole evening to my friends, I also love to go to the forest with my dog or (lease) horse and just enjoy the calm. I’m a real animal lover. Sadly I can’t take my tortoises to the forest haha!

 

Besides spending time with family or friends I also have a lot of hobbies. I do horseback riding, I dance, play in musicals, sing in a band, go to the gym, play the piano, I work, oh and in the winter I always go skiing with my family. As you can read I’m quite an active girl haha! This is because I just really like to sport and always want to be doing something, or learning something new. Apparently I’m not so good in relaxing a whole day. Currently I’m teaching myself to play the guitar, I have to admit that it’s not one of my greatest qualities but I’m trying haha! That’s also why I would love to learn new sports in the USA! I have been dancing for the last 11 years of my life so I would like to pursue this hobby there, but maybe in a different way like cheer! But if that isn’t possible, I’m willing to try any other sport as well!

 

Furthermore, I like to travel, meet new people and get in touch with other cultures. In my future, I would like to travel the whole world and see everything! This is also a reason why I chose to do an exchange year. I can’t wait to meet my future host family and future friends! The idea of having a second place that feels like home, and to be loved by a family on the other side of the world really amazes me. I’m really excited to experience the American culture. From the traditions, to the food, the school spirit, I even want to learn how to carve a pumpkin! I would also love to teach my future host family things about our Dutch culture! We have the best cookies, they’re called Stroopwafels and taste awesome. We also have traditions like ‘Sinterklaas’ or ‘Sint Maarten’ and I can’t wait to explain those!

 

I could tell you so much more, but I guess that should remain a surprise haha. I hope that you now have a better idea of who I am and what I’m like!

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.

Name(Required)
Address(Required)