Lena from Germany

Meet our Students

When you choose to host an exchange student, you are welcoming a member into your family. Learn more about our students and where they come from to find the best student for your family!

Lena from Germany

Gender: Female

Age: 16

Program Start: August 2024

Program Length: Academic Year

Interests: Horseback Riding, Board Games

About this Student

Hello! My name is Lena and I’m fifteen years old, but I will become sixteen before my exchange year begins. I come from Germany. My gender is female. I live with my parents and my brother in a smaller village.

 

I would describe myself as a friendly, naturally girl. I enjoy spending time with family and friends and sometimes I’m up for a joke. My friends and I always enjoy our time when meeting after school. We often talk or just laugh together and sometimes go shopping in the nearest bigger city. We always have a great time together.

 

In my family we often do activities, like playing board or card games in the evening. From time to time, we also watch a movie together or go hiking close to our home village. During our holidays we like to explore foreign countries, but up until now only in Europe.

 

I really like animals, which is why I also have two guinea pigs and we also have two cats in our family. I think animals are friendly and you can spend a lot of time with them. In any case, I would love to try new things.

 

When it comes to music, I don’t have a favorite band or singer and normally listen pop songs.

 

One important thing about me is, that I’m a vegetarian and therefore eat not meat or fish. But I’m fine with dairy products like cheese, milk, and yoghurt. I’m fine when other people around me eat meat or fish, so I don’t have a problem when you are not vegetarian, too. Only when preparing food, I would prefer not to prepare meat or fish dishes and the vegetarian food should not become into contact with meaty or fishy things.

 

I have heard many things about the USA, since my father and aunt have visited your country several times. Unfortunately, I’ve never been to the USA. Since I would like to experience your culture and enjoy meeting new people, I’m really looking forward to coming to the USA and living with you and become a part of your family. I’m sure there are many things I can learn from you.

 

This year (2023) I was able to be part of several student exchange programs, organized by my parents and my school. I was twice in the UK for a week each time. Later we hosted a student from Slovakia and afterwards another one from Spain, also for one week each. A return visit to Spain is planned for the beginning of next year.

 

So, I also look forward to experience the US school life and improve my English skills and study subjects that we don’t have at school here in Germany. Of course, I’m also curious about the extracurricular activities, which we don’t have here in Germany.

 

I expect it to become a very good, interesting, and exiting year with you. I look forward to getting to know you.

 

Hope to see you soon.

Are you interested in hosting this student?

Please provide your information below to receive more information about becoming a host family for this student.

Name(Required)
Address(Required)